Archived Action eAlerts

Thursday, February 25, 2016
Dear Humanitarian, The US Fish and Wildlife Service has proposed a long overdue rule that would restrict certain predator-hunting practices in Alaska's national wildlife refuges. Unfortunately, in...
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Dear Washington Humanitarian, HB 2888, a bill to ban the captive display for entertainment purposes of all cetaceans within the state, has passed the House and should now be heard in the Senate....
Friday, January 29, 2016
Dear Washington Humanitarian, Captures of wild orcas for sale to facilities to display them for entertainment or performance purposes began in Washington in 1964. The period in the 1960s and 1970s...
Friday, January 15, 2016
Dear Humanitarian in West Virginia, A few months ago, I wrote to you about the Refuge from Cruel Trapping Act (S. 1081), which Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ) introduced and which came up for a Senate...
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Dear Humanitarian, Scientific studies have shown that high-intensity mid-frequency sounds, including US Navy sonar, can cause serious harm to marine mammals—from strandings and deaths to cessation of...
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Dear Humanitarian, We need your help to support passage of a bill to protect New York's mute swans from needless slaughter. Governor Cuomo has until Saturday, November 21, to take action on this...
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Dear Humanitarian, On November 13 and 14, at The George Washington University Law School in Washington, DC, AWI's president and other experts will be speaking on a variety of animal welfare issues...
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Dear California Humanitarian, SeaWorld Entertainment announced the "Blue World" Project last year. The project proposes to invest $100 million per park (for a total of $300 million) for the...
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Dear Humanitarian, The US Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) and NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) have proposed two very dangerous changes to the regulations that govern petitions to...
Friday, August 21, 2015
Dear Hawaii Humanitarian, The Hawaii Board of Agriculture holds a monthly meeting. This month's meeting is Tuesday, August 25, and the board will consider an item that affects captive dolphins in the...